Finalists announced for 2020 RAC SportWest Awards | Ralph Lauren

Must Read


A sporting year like no other is still cause for celebration as Perth prepares to honour our high achieving athletes, teams and volunteers ahead of the 2020 RAC SportWest Awards.

WA sports of all kind will come together at RAC Arena on February 11 to reward a year of resilience in the face of sporting uncertainty.

Live sports coverage went silent as COVID-19 gripped the world.

Equally, community sport was impacted leaving the normally busy sporting venues around the state empty.

But when sport was given the green light to return, we welcomed a raft of outstanding team and individual performances which stood out in a ravaged sporting landscape.

In the Channel Seven Perth Team of the Year award, four teams, three of which are elite women’s sporting sides, have been nominated for their sporting excellence.

The Fremantle Dockers AFLW team went undefeated before the competition was abandoned; the Perth Wildcats won their 10th NBL Championship; the WA Women’s Cricket Team claimed their first National League title since 1986-87, while the West Coast Fever overcame hub-life to go agonizingly close to a maiden Super Netball Championship win.

The four coaches of the nominated teams, Trent Cooper (Fremantle AFLW Team) Trevor Gleeson (Perth Wildcats) Lisa Keightley (WA Women’s Cricket Team) Stacey Marinkovich (West Coast Fever), have also all been nominated for the KPMG coach of the year award.

The return of sport provided its own challenges at community level with extensive protocols adapted to keep players and staff safe.

The challenge was strongly embraced by thousands of volunteers, many of whom will be celebrated on the night after SportsWest received 127 nominations across eight categories to determine a set of finalists.

The contenders for The West Australian RAC WA Sports Star will be announced in The Weekend West on Saturday 6 February, ahead of the presentation of the RAC SportWest Awards at RAC Arena on Thursday 11 February from 6pm.


Hyundai Junior Sports Star

Cooper Connolly (cricket)

Hana Lowry (football)

Adam White (triathlon)

Channel Seven Perth Team of the Year

Fremantle Dockers Women’s Team

Perth Wildcats

WA Women’s Cricket Team

West Coast Fever

KPMG Coach of the Year

Trent Cooper (Fremantle AFLW Team)

Trevor Gleeson (Perth Wildcats)

Lisa Keightley (WA Women’s Cricket Team)

Stacey Marinkovich (West Coast Fever)

Community TAB Official of the Year

Michelle McMurdo (gymnastics)

Tammy Standley (hockey)

Dion Panossian (karate)

Roobix Service to Sport – May Campbell Medal

Grant Edgar (cricket)

Vicki Chadwick (netball)

Lorraine Page (softball)

RAC Insurance Beyond Sport – John Gilmour Medal

Bassendean Junior Cricket Club

Dianella White Eagles Soccer Club

Red Devils – Southern Districts Netball Association

RAC Insurance Community Club of the Year

Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club

Balga Soccer Club

High Flyers Trampoline & Gymnastics Club

Healthway Healthy Club Award

Ocean Ridge Junior Football Club

Woodridge Horse and Pony Club

Harlies Hockey Club


Source link

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

CBD Oil Australia: Must check these details

Cannabidiol (CBD) is a chemical that is found in the Cannabis sativia plant, also known as cannabis. A cbd oil contains almost...

More Articles Like This