Small Axe series tops LA critics’ awards | Ralph Lauren

Must Read

Prime Video’s Small Axe, a collection of five films directed by Oscar-winner Steve McQueen, has been named “best picture” at the Los Angeles Film Critics Association’s awards.

Amazon Studios has submitted Small Axe to the Golden Globes and Screen Actors Guild awards in the limited series categories, but the series hasn’t been submitted for the Oscars.

Small Axe also won the LAFCA’s cinematography award.

Chloe Zhao won best director for Nomadland. She is the first Asian woman to ever win the category and just the fourth woman.


Best Picture: Small Axe (Prime Video) Runner up: Nomadland (Searchlight Pictures)

Best Director: Chloe Zhao, Nomadland (Searchlight Pictures) Runner up: Steve McQueen, Small Axe (Prime Video)

Best Actor: Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Netflix) Runner up: Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal (Amazon Studios)

Best Actress: Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman (Focus Features) Runner up: Viola Davis, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Netflix)

Best Supporting Actor: Glynn Turman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Netflix) Runner up: Paul Raci, Sound of Metal (Amazon Studios)

Best Supporting Actress: Yuh-jung Youn, Minari (A24) Runner up: Amanda Seyfried, Mank (Netflix)

Best Animated Film: Wolfwalkers (Apple TV Plus/GKIDS) Runner up: Soul (Pixar)

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction: Time (Amazon Studios) Runner up: Collective (Magnolia Pictures and Participant)

Best Foreign Language Film: Beanpole (Kino Lorber) Runner up: Martin Eden (Kino Lorber)

Best Screenplay: Promising Young Woman (Focus Features) – Emerald Fennell Runner up: Never Rarely Sometimes Always (Focus Features) – Eliza Hittman

Best Cinematography: Small Axe (Prime Video) – Shabier Kirchner Runner up: Nomadland (Searchlight Pictures) – Joshua James Richards

Best Editing: The Father (Sony Pictures Classics) – Yorgos Lamprinos Runner up: Time (Amazon Studios) – Gabriel Rhodes

Best Music/Score: Soul (Pixar) – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross Runner up: Lovers Rock (Prime Video) – Mica Levi

Best Production Design: Mank (Netflix) – Donald Graham Burt Runner up: Beanpole (Kino Lorber) – Sergey Ivanov

New Generation Prize: Radha Blank, The Forty-Year-Old Version (Netflix)

Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award: John Gianvito’s Her Socialist Smile

Career Achievement: Hou Hsiao-Hsien and Harry Belafonte

Legacy Award: Norman Lloyd.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

NRL news 2022: Josh Papalii ‘cried all week’ ahead of 250th game, Raiders vs Rabbitohs

An emotional Josh Papalii has confessed that he “cried all week” ahead of his 250th NRL match for...

More Articles Like This